8 Gift Ideas for a 10-Year Old Boy

‘Tis the season to give gifts.

I joined forces with some fellow hockey moms and my son to provide some suggestions, in case you also have an adorable 10-year old in want of gifts.

Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard

My son is a voracious reader, so he’s ready for Book 2, Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard, Book 2 The Hammer of Thor. If you are looking for another similar series, I might suggest you research Percy Jackson and the Olympians 5 Book Paperback Boxed Set.

Spot-It

This one keeps kids occupied for hours. There is Spot It, the regular version. Of course, no self-respecting hockey family wouldn’t also have the NHL version. There’s also an MLB version, if you’re a baseball family.

Legos

Okay, this one is a no-brainer. My son is particularly interested in Star Wars right now, so I’d recommend LEGO Star Wars Resistance X-Wing Fighter. However, he also has the The Lego Ideas Book. It gives him great ideas, which also included a run out to IKEA to organize his Lego bricks by color.

Magic

Yes, magic. You might say we had a magical Thanksgiving, as my kids and my nieces put on a magic show for us. The Ideal 100-Trick Spectacular Magic Show Suitcase looks like it will provide a few more hours of fun. He already has the 4M Kids Magic Set so we know it was a showstopper.

Tensies

Another fun game, Tenzi Dice Game & 77 Ways To Play Tenzi doesn’t require a lot of thought or strategy, but make family fun night a little more exciting.

Watch Ya’Mouth

Okay, we don’t have this one. Yet. But Ya’ Mouth Family Edition, the Authentic, Hilarious, Mouth Guard Party Game looks like it’s soon going to be an addition to our family fun night. When he gets really goofy, I can’t understand my 10-year old anyway, so why not add some complexity?

iTunes

Whether your child has a phone or not (and my 10-year old definitely does not have cellular service), an iTunes gift card will get him music or the newest app to play.

An Ornament

Okay, stay with me. My friend had this idea, and I wish I’d been doing it all along. Every year, she buys an ornament for her son with something significant that happened that  year. Slowly she’s filling her tree with memories of everybody in the family. I love it. Brody has had a good year, and he scored his first travel hockey goal. I think I might go for the Goal Ice Skates Hockey Stick and Puck Christmas Tree Ornament so he can remember that milestone.

Those are just eight ideas, but there could be more. I can think of many more games we play as a family, many more books he likes to read. Please comment with any additions – what would you buy for a 10-year old boy?

Leave a Reply

