Pennsylvania Pizza

I know what you’re thinking.

Pizza comes from New York, Chicago, or even St. Louis, where they have their own style. But my parents hail from Pennsylvania, and they have a particular Sicilian-style there that I just crave.

My parents just visited Pennsylvania for their 50th high school reunion. Amazing, right? And they bragged about their pizza. So naturally, I decided to make Pennsylvania-style pizza myself! (I assume they didn’t ship me any Victory Pig or Pizza Perfect.)

I found this recipe online a long time ago, and it’s not the real thing (the owners of Victory Pig called him “full of dough”), but it gives me enough flavor to enjoy it in Arizona, and it makes me happy, so I don’t care if it’s legitimate.

pizza-dough

I modified the recipe slightly to utilize a bread maker. (My son asked me, “what IS that machine?” – apparently I do not use it often enough!)  I enter the ingredients in the order on the recipe and then let it do its work. The dough setting takes about 90 minutes, and it’s worth not having to knead it myself!

Once it’s done, I generously oil (EVOO) a dark pan (I’m Pampered Chef stoneware obsessed, but for this, the dark pan crisps up the crust just right!)  then I stretch it out.  After it sits a bit, it’s time to top it. One more layer of EVOO right on top.

pizza-tomatoes

You start with a layer of thinly sliced Muenster cheese. (I ask the deli for the thinnest cut available.) Then you top it with thinly sliced onions, then whole canned tomatoes. I actually drain them in a bowl and break them up with my hands. Of course, salt and pepper.

pizza-preppedAnother layer of Muenster, and this pizza is ready for the oven. At 450 degrees, it takes about 20 minutes.

pizza-edge

The olive oil crisps up the edges nicely and the pizza is a combination of crispy bottom and soft insides, with salty onion flavor.

pizza-cut

Nice rectangle cuts finish the pizza and it’s ready to consume!

This time around, I just made one pizza, as it was just adults that night. When I make it for the kids, I have to make them their own pizza without onions.

I love this recipe because there really is no sauce. The oil, tomatoes, onions and cheese make their own “sauce” and the pizza is the right combination of crispy, soft and cheesy, as all pizza should be!

What’s your favorite pizza recipe? Apparently I have a bread maker I need to use more often!

PENNSYLVANIA PIZZA

Large can peeled whole tomatoes, drained and crushed
Onion, sliced very thin
Muenster cheese, sliced very thin (about 3/4 pound)
Extra virgin olive oil
1 cup warm water
2-1/2 cups flour
1 teaspoon sugar
1 teaspoon salt
2 packages dry yeast, or 4-1/2 teaspoons

In a bread maker, first add warm water. Follow with flour, sugar and salt. Add yeast to the top (if you are delaying start, make sure the yeast doesn’t contact the water.) Prepare on dough setting.

Generously oil a dark jelly roll pan and stretch the dough to all edges. Allow it to rise again.

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees. Rub oil on the crust, and top with half the Muenster cheese. Add onions then crushed tomatoes. Salt and pepper to taste. Top with remaining Muenster and bake for about 20 minutes or until edges are crisp and cheese is melted.

Serves 2 to 4, but I’d double it.

Leave a Reply

