Cold Brew at Home

I’m a coffee girl.

And I LOVE the new cold brew trend.

So, what’s the difference? Iced coffee is coffee that is hot brewed and then cooled, often with a cupful of ice. Cold brew is actually brewed cold and never gets hot. This has two advantages:

  1. Cold brew is cold. It doesn’t need ice and therefore doesn’t need to be watered down.
  2. Cold brew is much smoother. Because it is never heated, it doesn’t get bitter. It’s so smooth!

And cold brew is super simple to make.

Coffee-Cream

I got fresh grinds from the farmer’s market, from Bergies, a local coffee store. They were specially ground for cold brew, but you can use any coffee. The thing that made the beans special was actually how they ground them. They are a bit less ground than you would typically use for hot coffee.

I don’t have a lot of gallon jars around (and I’m pretty sure Rob would not have been happy for me to use a growler) so I used a store-bought gallon of water, and using a filter, added my two cups of grinds. I put the lid on, shook it up a bit and put it in the fridge for two days.

You can let it rest 24 to 48 hours.

Cold-Brew

Using a pitcher, I placed my hot coffee brew basket on top with a filter in it, and filtered that coffee water through. I’m not going to lie. It was a slow process. I basically left it to drip and then would come back and change the filter and dump in more water. I then poured the dark brew into mason jars. Because they’re fun.

I have had it both dark and with cream, and it’s good both ways. I usually drink my coffee black, and with the cold brew being less bitter, it’s even easier to drink plain.

Let me know if you try it yourself!

Cold Brew:

2 cups freshly ground coffee beans, rough

1 gallon water

Leave a Reply

