5 Reasons I Don’t Return Your Call

inbox-full

As a digital marketing director, I get hundreds of emails a week. There are many reasons I don’t return calls or respond to emails, but here are a few. Maybe it can help you polish your sales pitch. 😉

1. You have the wrong girl.

Do you know how many emails I get offering me lists of “healthcare decision makers?” You’d think I actually worked in the healthcare industry, but I do not. I’ve been in Aerospace my entire career. And while I often am mis-segmented, I get particularly upset when the email is addressed to Mr. Carrie. Why would I buy your lists when you can’t get my segment or name correct?

2. The timing isn’t right.

I live in Arizona, so I’m a good two or three hours behind the rest of the country from the moment I wake up. So obviously, my phone is full of emails first thing in the morning. Thankfully the iPhone makes it super simple to swipe away all the nonsense. And if you’ve emailed me a pitch for a new service, tool or product, it’s very likely it got swept away in the noise. I leave the office every night with an empty in-box, so if I can take a few minutes first thing to clear out the haze so I can focus on what matters, I do.

3. We are tool-rich.

Anyone else have that problem? We have one tool for our editorial calendar, one tool for internal document storage. Another tool for external document sharing. Another tool for content management. Yet another to store digital assets. I’m sorry – we just don’t need one more tool that does just one thing! I dream of a world where one tool does everything, but in the same vein, that’s a super-scary scenario of putting all of your eggs in one basket. I think I’ll live with the tools I have.

4. There’s no content.

I do get some clever emails. A new trend?

Carrie, you’re not responding. Is that because:
a) You are just too busy but you really are interested.
b) You’re not interested.
c) You are fishing for salmon off the coast of Alaska for the month.

Okay, it’s clever. But generally not really useful. I get a lot of emails where people just don’t tell me what they do or what they offer. “Getting the most out of Sitecore?” I don’t know. What does that mean? What are you really offering? What does getting more look like? Tell me a story. Publish a blog. Give me interesting content.

5. You say it’s about me, but it isn’t.

The newest pitch: I just need 15 minutes of your time so I can better understand the issues you are facing. Really? What do I get out of that? Nothing, that’s what. I hate to be critical, but the only reason you want to better understand my issues is so you can better pitch me a solution. And I get it. I’ve done network marketing for several years, and I can offer solutions better when I really listen. However, if you want 15 minutes, perhaps you should think about what’s in it for me?

The last pitch that worked on me? The business offered me a free look at my website analytics to show me how their package worked. They offered me value, and as a bonus, I really got to see their tool. When I saw data and analytics that I had not seen before, I was ready to sign up.

Are you offering value, or just pitching blindly?

Leave a Reply

